McCarty Little Hall
The War Gaming Department is located in McCarty Little Hall, a 110,000 square foot war gaming facility which opened in 1999. The building is named after Captain William McCarty Little, who was instrumental in the introduction and development of war gaming techniques at the Naval War College dating back to 1887.
The building boasts a 180 seat auditorium, a television studio, conference facilities, ample office and classroom space, and 25 reconfigurable gaming cells. The auditorium is equipped with high definition projectors, video teleconferencing capability, and a large floor that can double as as an additional game cell or can hold a 25 foot by 40 foot map to conduct a Rehearsal of Concept Drill.
The gaming cells can host over 400 computer stations that can be linked to one of four self contained networks. The gaming cells also have the capability to broadcast video teleconferences throughout the facility or externally to a worldwide audience. All gaming cells are capable of being secured during classified events. The Joint Command Center is the largest of the game cells and can host over 100 stations and contains a state of the art multifaceted projection system.